Skip to content
Express Entry system - New Teer System

Express Entry New TEER System Implemented On Nov 16!

Yes, IRCC has updated their NOC 2021 page which says that new TEER system will be implemented in November 2022. It says as we quote, “On November 16, 2022, we’re switching to the 2021 version of the National Occupational Classification (NOC).” This is in alignment with IRCC memo that was obtained by INC – Immigration News Canada in May 2022.

So, mark the date and set reminders in your calendar for November 16 to update your TEER in the profile. As a result of implementation of new NOC system, below are the two major changes that will happen:

What is the NOC 2021, the New TEER system? 

Canada uses NOC as a national reference for occupations. The Canadian federal government revises NOC every ten years to reflect Canada’s economy and labour market. 

The NOC 2021 modernizes the previous 4-digit “Skill Level” structure. It introduces new categories to represent the degree of Training, Education, Experience and Responsibilities (TEER) needed for an occupation. Additionally, it includes a new five-digit hierarchical structure. 

How Is NOC 2021 Coded:

Title of HierarchyFormatDigitRepresents:
Broad CategoryXFirst Digit – XOccupational categorization
Major Group XXSecond Digit xXTEER categorization
Sub-major GroupXX.Xxx.XTop level of the Sub-Major Group
Minor GroupXX.XXxx.XXHierarchy within the Sub-Major Group
Unit GroupXX.XXXxx.XXXHierarchy within the Minor Group

Overview of Changes in New TEER System: 

  • A) TEER 0: Legislative and senior management occupations that generally require and have a significant level of experience, knowledge, and responsibilities related to resource planning and directing.
  • B) TEER 1: This will usually require university education or previous experience and expertise in subject matter knowledge from a related occupation found within TEER 2.
  • C) TEER 2: This Occupations usually requiring post-secondary education of two to three years, or apprenticeship training of at least two years, or occupations with supervisory or significant safety responsibilities.
  • D) TEER 3: Occupations requiring less than two years of post-secondary education or on-the-job training, training courses or specific work experience of more than six months.
  • E) TEER 4 or TEER 5: Occupations that usually requires a high-school diploma or no formal education are classified in “TEER” 4 or “TEER” 5. 

Source: IRCC