Skip to content
Alberta is calling

Alberta Adds 5 New Communities To The Rural Renewal Stream

Last Updated On 16 March 2023, 10:30 AM EDT (Toronto Time)

Alberta adds 5 new communities to its Rural Renewal Stream for permanent residency (PR), making the total to 22 communities now.

Drayton Valley, Cold Lake, St. Paul, Slave Lake, and Athabasca County are the new designated communities added on March 10, 2023.

Alberta Rural Renewal stream is one of the best PR program for foreign nationals with a job offer in one of these communities.

Furthermore, applicants need cumulative 12 months of experience. And, this can be a combination of experience in Alberta or in Canada (outside Alberta) or even abroad.

However, this program being new (launched in 2022) continues to be under utilized with low application numbers.

Another notable feature of this PR stream is that only CLB level 4 or 5 is required. This is equivalent to IELTS less than 4 in reading and 5 in rest of the modules.

Moreover, only high school level of education is required to qualify for the Rural Renewal Stream.

Click here for detailed eligibility of Alberta Rural Renewal Stream.

Full list of designated communities for Alberta Rural Renewal Stream

CommunityDesignation Date
City of Cold LakeMarch 10, 2023
County of St. Paul (including: Town of St Paul, Town of Elk Point, Summer Village of Horseshoe Bay)March 10, 2023
Town of Drayton ValleyMarch 10, 2023
Athabasca County (including: Town of Athabasca, Village of Boyle)March 10, 2023
Town of Slave LakeMarch 10, 2023
Town of Fox CreekFebruary 13, 2023
Town of Fairview (including: Village of Hines Creek)January 13, 2023
City of Medicine Hat (including: County of Forty Mile, Cypress County, Town of Bow Island, Town of Redcliff)January 13, 2023
Town of EdsonNovember 8, 2022
County of Barrhead (including: Town of Barrhead)November 8, 2022
Big Lakes County (including: Town of High Prairie)November 8, 2022
Town of HintonNovember 8, 2022
Municipality of JasperSeptember 13, 2022
Town of InnisfailSeptember 9, 2022
Municipal District of Smoky River (including: Town of Falher, Town of McLennan, Village of Donnelly, Village of Girouxville)September 9, 2022
County of Grande Prairie (including: Town of Sexsmith, Town of Wembley, Town of Beaverlodge)September 9, 2022
Town of TrochuSeptember 9, 2022
Fort McMurray Wood BuffaloSeptember 9, 2022
Town of WhitecourtJuly 20, 2022
Town of Taber (including: Municipal District of Taber, Town of Vauxhall, Town of Coaldale)July 20, 2022
City of Grande PrairieJuly 6, 2022
City of Brooks (including: Town of Bassano, Village of Duchess, County of Newell, Village of Rosemary)May 13, 2022

List of ineligible occupations for Alberta Rural Renewal Stream

Job offers in one of the below listed occupations are ineligible for Alberta Rural Renewal Stream.

NOC Code (2021)Occupation
60040*Escort agency managers, massage parlour managers
51111Authors and writers (except technical)
51122Musicians and singers
42200*Justices of the peace
53121Actors, comedians and circus performers
53122Painters, sculptors and other visual artists
53124Artisans and craftspersons
33100*Dental laboratory bench workers
44100Home child care providers
44101Home support workers, caregivers and related occupations
64321Casino Occupations
55109Other performers
65229Other support occupations in personal services
85101Harvesting Labourers

Click here for full details on how to apply for Alberta Rural Renewal Stream.


Something went wrong. Please refresh the page and/or try again.