Skip to content

Omicron: Two New Border Measures Announced For Travelers!

Today, Canada changed it’s stance on response to Omicron, variant of COVID taking U-turn from the previously announced restrictions. Minister of Health, Hon’ble Jean-Yves Duclos made following two announcements:

  1. Canada lifted the ban on international travel from the 10 African countries with effect from December 18 at 11:59 p.m. He said this measure has served it’s purpose and no longer necessary.
  2. With Effect From December 21, Canada will require pre-arrival PCR testing for all travelers leaving the country for less than 72 hours. This will include all international trips for all duration.

Furthermore, Canada continues to advise Canadians against non-essential travel outside Canada. Minister Duclos said, “We don’t want to let Cnadians stranded outside Canada or sick abroad.” “Once you are sick, there is little Canadian government can do” he added.

It’s important to note here that government’s stand was totally different for Delta variant and suspension on direct flights from India. However, Canada faced a lot of criticism from around the world saying that Omicron has already been in the 44 countries, but there is no reason for punishing only 10 African countries.

As of today, there are 48,541 active cases of COVID in Canada. There are now 768 cases of Omicron variant with 280 new cases reported today!

Ontario Drive Test Pass Rates | Latest Location Wise List
This article provides the latest Ontario drive test pass rates for full …
India Canada Latest News and Updates | Ongoing Diplomatic Issue
This page enlists all the India Canada latest news and updates related …